🗱 BIZCOMMUNITY

All the Metro FM Music Awards 2024 nominees

The South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) has announced the nominees for the Metro FM Music Awards 2024. These nominations feature music singles and albums released between 28 February 2023 and 28 February 2024. This year, the station received over 1,700 entries for the various categories.



Source: www.metrofmmusicawards.co.za

Internationally acclaimed singer and Grammy award winner, Tyla, leads with six nominations for the song *Water*. She is nominated in the categories of Song of the Year, Best Female Artist, Best Music Video, Best Viral Challenge and Artist of the Year.

Amapiano is at the forefront with both Kabza De Small and Tyler ICU receiving five nominations each.Kabza De Small received nominations for Best Produced Album, Best Collaboration, Song of the Year, Best Amapiano – all the for the song *Imithandazo featuring Mthunzi. Kabza De Small was also nominated for Best Male Artist.*

Tyler ICU's five nominations include Best Collaboration, Song of the Year, Best Viral Challenge, Best Amapiano – all for the *Mnike*, which features Tumelo. He was also nominated the Artist of the Year award.

Inkabi Zezwe, Sjava and Big Zulu bagged four impressive nominations, two for *Ukhamba* – Best Produced Album and Best African Pop. They were also nominated for Best Collaboration for the song *Umbayi Mbayi*.

Kina Nhlengethwa, Metro FM business manager said, "The Metro FM Music Awards serve as a celebration of the vibrant tapestry of South African music, where melodies become bridges that connect hearts and souls. It's a platform where artists, both established and emerging, showcase their passion and talent, igniting a symphony of inspiration and creativity. Beyond the glitz and glamour, these awards embody the relentless pursuit of excellence and the unwavering dedication to

craft."

Nhlengethwa further stated, "We were delighted with the quality of the entries and the music. The artists that have been entered are truly of a world-class standard that competes with the rest of the musical world."

Black To The Future

The theme for the 2024 edition of the awards was also revealed during the nominee announcement. This year's theme is 'Black To The Future', which celebrates the achievements and contributions of Black artists in the music industry by highlighting, excellence, creativity, and impact.

The awards echo the rhythm of resilience and the harmony of diversity, reminding all that music transcends boundaries and unites the country in a universal language of music.

The Metro FM Awards 2024 will take place on 27 April 2024 at Mbombela Stadium in Mpumalanga and will be broadcast live on SABC1.

The Metro FM Awards 2024 are brought to you by the Mpumalanga Provincial Government, in association with the Motsepe Foundation. In the effort to continuously add more value to the awards the winners of each category will receive R50,000, and the Song of the year winner will walk away with R150,000, courtesy of Motsepe Foundation. In addition, Santam is sponsoring the Best New Artist category.

Full list of nominees

Best Gospel Album

Ntokozo Mbambo - *Lavish Worship* Jumbo – *Siyabonga* Hle - *Take Heart*

Best Jazz Album

Amandla Freedom Ensemble - *Oratorio Of A Forgotten Youth* Sibusiso Mash Mashiloane – *Izibong*o Mbuso Khoza - *Ifa Lomkhono* Bokani Dyer - *Radio Sechaba* Vusi Mahlasela – Umoya: Embracing The Human Spirit

Best Produced Album

De Mthuda & Da Muziqal Chef – *Sgudi Snyc* Dlala Thukzin - *Permanent Music 3* Inkabi Zezwe – *Ukhamba* Kabza De Small & Mthunzi – *Isimo* Kelvin Momo – *Kurhula*

Best Collaboration

DJ Kent - Horns in the sun (Thakzin remix) ft Thakzin; Brenden Praise; Mo T; Morda Kabza De Small &Mthunzi – Imithandazo ft dj Maphorisa; Young stunna; Sizwe Alakine; Umthakathi Kush Inkabi Zezwe – Umbayimbayi Tyler ICU – Mnike ft Tumelo ZA, Dj Maphorisa: Nandipha808; CeekaRSA; Tyrondee Mellow & Sleazy - Imnandi Lento ft Tman Xpress; SjavasDaDj; TitoM

Song of the Year

Oscar Mbo & KG Smallz - Yes God ft. Dearson, Morda, Mhaw keys (Mhaw keys remix) DJ KENT - Horns in the sun ft MoT; Brenden Praise; Morda; Thakzin (Thakzin remix) Kamo Mphela – Dalie ft Baby S.O.N, Tyler ICU & Khalil Harrison Tyla – Water Kabza De Small & Mthunzi – Imithandazo ft dj Maphorisa: Young stunna; Sizwe Alkaline; Umthakathi Kush Dlala Thukzin – *iPlan* ft Zaba & Sykes Tyler ICU – Mnike ft Dj Maphorisa: Nandipha808; CeekaRSA;Tyrondee Bassie & Aymos - Izenzo ft. T-Man SA De Mthuda & Da Muziqal Chef - Sgudi Snyc ft Eemoh & Sipho Magudulela DJ Stokie – Masithokoze ft Eemoh

Artist of the Year

Tyla Oscar Mbo Tyler ICU Morda Lwah Ndlunkulu

Best Viral Challenge

Tyler ICU – *Mnike* ft Tumelo ZA, Dj Maphorisa: Nandipha808; CeekaRSA; Tyrondee Tyla – *Water* Kamo Mphela – *Dalie* ft Baby S.O.N, Tyler ICU & Khalil Harrison TitoM & Yuppe - *Tshwala Bam* ft S.N.E & EeQue Tebza De Dj - *Ka Valungu* ft. DJ Nomza The King

Best New Artist

Harry Cane Nontokozo Mkhize Sykes Robin Fassie Shakes & Les

Best Duo/Group

De Mthuda & Da Muziqal Chef Inkabi Zezwe Mellow & Sleazy Tito M & Yuppe Thee Legacy

Best Dance

DJ KENT - *Horns in the sun* ft MoT; Brenden Praise; Morda; Thakzin (Thakzin remix) Dlala Thukzin – *iPlan* ft Zaba & Sykes Heavy-K – *Ulele* ft Samthing Soweto, Thakzin & Professor MORDA - *Burning Bush* ft. Thakzin & Ihhashi Elimhlophe Zakes Bantwini - *Mama Thula* ft Skye Wanda, Thakzin & Suffocate SA

Best Kwaito/Gqom

DJ Kotin - *Hello* ft Big Nuz, Mshayi & Mr Thela DJ Lag & Mr Nation Thingz - *Hade Boss* ft K.C Driller SYKES - *Sisestyleni Babies* ft Skillz & RudeBoyz

Best Hip Hop

Cassper Nyovest – 018 ft. Maglera Doe Boy Nasty C - *Prosper In Peace* ft Benny The Butcher Khuli Chana – *Khuliyano* DA Les – *Solo* ft Manu World Star, Gemini Major, & NAVIO A-Reece - *Ving Rhames*

Best African Pop

Inkabi Zezwe – Ukhamba Lwa Ndlunkulu – Imizwa Nomfundo Moh – Ugcobo Zonke – Embo Bongeziwe Mabandla – Amaxesha

Best Amapiano

De Mthuda & Da Muziqal Chef - *Sgudi Snyc* ft Eemoh & Sipho Magudulela Mellow & Sleazy - *Imnandi Lento* ft Tman Xpress; SjavasDaDj; TitoM Kabza De Small & Mthunzi – *Imithandazo* ft dj Maphorisa; Young stunna; Sizwe Alakine; Umthakathi Kush Tyler ICU – *Mnike* ft Tumelo ZA, Dj Maphorisa: Nandipha808; CeekaRSA; Tyrondee DJ Stokie - *Awukhuzeki* ft. Omit ST, Sobzeen, Zee_nhle

Best Music Video

De Mthuda & Da Muziqal Chef - *Sgudi Snyc* ft Eemoh & Sipho Magudulela Tyla – *Water* Kamo Mphela – *Dalie* ft Baby S.O.N, Tyler ICU & Khalil Harrison Mthandazo Gatya - *IN 2 U* Bassie & Aymos- *Izenzo* Ft. T-Man SA

Best Male

Aymos De Mthuda Kelvin Momo Morda Kabza De Small

Best Styled

Zakes Bantwini

Morda Dbn Gogo Musa Keys Oscar Mbo

Best R&B

Filah Lah Lah - *Call Me* Nanette & Blxckie - *Talk 2 Me* ft. BGRZ Tyla – *Water* Mthandazo Gatya - *IN 2 U* Nontokozo Mkhize - *Lu Strong* ft Nomfundo Moh

Best Female

Kamo Mphela Ntokozo Mbambo Tyla Makhadzi Lwah Ndlunkulu

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com