

CBA Awards 2011 shortlist announced

The Commonwealth Broadcasting Association (CBA) has announced the shortlist for its annual awards. To ensure that award recipients receive maximum recognition in their home territories, awards this year will be presented at CBA events regionally.

Broadcasters globally are facing the challenges of digitisation, but engaging and high quality programme content is acknowledged as the key driver for digital transition. Excellence in media production across the Commonwealth is celebrated in the shortlisted entries which come from a wide range of countries including Australia, UK, India, Ghana, Mozambique and Kenya.

The CBA judging panels reported that the quality of content produced by entrants was high, although the World Bank Award for a programme covering development success is not to be awarded as no entrants sufficiently fulfilled the application criteria.

Shortlisted entries:

Amnesty International Award for Human Rights Programme:

- Assignment Guinea on the Brink, BBC World Service
- Echoes of Srebrenica, SBS (Australia)
- MSM: Between the Rock and the Hard Place, Voice of Nigeria

CBA-IBC Award for Innovative Engineering:

- EPG Innovation Project, SABC
- MCR Project, Televisao Independente de Mocambique

One World Media Award for Best Programme produced in a Developing Country:

- Charmarel, Mauritius Broadcasting Corporation
- Maternal Mortality, Radio Kisima FM (Kenya)
- Umtshato The Wedding, Soul City Institute for Health and Development Communication (South Africa)

Thomson Foundation Journalist of the Year Award:

- Rob Walker, Broadcast Journalist, BBC
- Samuel Agyemang, Reporter/Anchor, Metro TV (Ghana)

UNESCO Award for Science Reporting & Programming:

- The Glacier Saga, NDTV (India)
- Honeybee Blues, SBS (Australia)
- Sabuja Mana, Sabuja Sapana (Green Mind, Green Action), Doordarshan (India)

Judges:

- Olly Barratt, Feature Story News
- Marion Bowman, One World Media
- Cheryl Campbell, Television for the Environment
- Francis Dobbs, World Bank
- · Neil Dormand, CBA
- · Alan Downie, CBA
- Huw Edwards, BBC
- Hayley Haas, Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative
- John Ive, International Association of Broadcasting Manufacturers
- Mark Jacobs, BBC
- · Karen Merkel, CBA
- · Akim Mogaji, CBA
- Gugulethu Moyo, Media Legal Defence Initiative
- Marcia Poole, Amnesty International
- Benn Meno Pufong, Cameroon Radio Television
- Tim Rogers, Thomson Foundation
- Elizabeth Smith, Transforming Broadcasting
- · Simon Spanswick, Association for International Broadcasting
- · Robin White, ex-BBC WS Africa

For more information, go to www.cba.org.uk.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com