## BIZCOMMUNITY

## Malawian journalists dominate 2015 SADC Media Awards

By Chikondi Chimala

19 Aug 2015

Journalists from Malawi dominated the 2015 SADC Media Awards that were presented Monday at the opening of the 35th SADC Summit heads of state meeting.



Image via <u>123RF</u>

Winstone Mwale from Zodiak Broadcasting Station and Times Group photojournalist Bonnex Julius were awarded in radio and photo categories. The awards are from the slated four categories of print, radio, photojournalism and television for the SADC bloc's media.

Mwale won for his entry on the annual Kulamba ceremony of the Chewas of Malawi, Zambia and Mozambique while Julius won for his entry which showcased the benefits of Nkaya-Kachaso Railway line between Malawi and Mozambique.

The two received US\$2000 (over K1m) each as prize money, a certificate signed by SADC Chairperson, Robert Mugabe of Zimbabwe.

The SADC Media Awards take place each year in the four categories of print, radio, photojournalism and television. The competition is open to all SADC national journalists.

Speaking with Mana in Gaborone, both Mwale and Julius expressed happiness for putting Malawi on the map. Said Mwale, "I am thankful to God, my editors and workmates for the support. I am sure this will spur me to go to greater heights in my career."

On his part, Julius could not hide the joy: "This is one step for me, but it's a great occasion for my family, colleagues and the nation at large."

Malawi's SADC National Media Coordinator who is also Director of Information, Dr Bright Molande commended the two describing their achievement as confirmation that Malawians have what it takes to compete and participate as leaders in on the global market. "Winning two out of a possible four is not easy. It is a testament of the quality that we as a nation have," said Molande.

He also expressed Malawi Government's commitment to a free and thriving press and called on the media to participate fully to scoop all categories next year.

The other winners are Puso Kedimetse from Botswana in the print category and Dennis Tshetlhane and Sam Msibi.

Malawi last won an award in 2013 through Malawi Broadcasting Corporation's Vincent Khonyongwa when the country hosted the summit.

Meanwhile President Robert Mugabe of Zimbabwe has handed over the chairmanship of SADC to President Seretse Ian Khama of Botswana during the opening ceremony.

Malawi President Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika is represented by Foreign Affairs Minister Dr George Chaponda at the summit.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com