🗱 BIZCOMMUNITY

African Utility Week Industry Awards finalists announced

The finalists in the fifth annual African Utility Week Industry Awards have been announced. The awards recognises pioneering utilities, projects and people in the energy and water industry on the continent during 2017/2018.



African Utility Week Industry Awards 2018 finalists:

Lifetime Achievement Award

- Siengui Apollinaire KI, secretary general, Western African Power Pool, Burkina Faso
- Alex Gisagara, director of Engineering, National Water and Sewerage Corporation, Uganda
- Irene Muloni, cabinet minister for Energy and Minerals, Uganda Ministry of Energy, Uganda
- Roland Schulze, professor emeritus of Hydrology Centre for Water Resources Research School of Agricultural, Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
- Elijah Sichone, executive secretary, Regional Electricity Regulators Association of Southern Africa (RERA), Namibia

Outstanding Contribution Award: Water

- Anthony Turton, professor, Centre for Environmental Management, University of Free State, South Africa
- Paul Yillia, research scholar (Water Programme), International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis, Austria
- Silver Mugisha, managing director, National Water and Sewerage Corporation, Uganda

Energy/Water Reporter of the Year Award

- Emeka Anuforo, senior energy correspondent, Guardian Newspaper, Nigeria
- Chris Yelland, energy reporter, EE Publishers, South Africa
- Fredrick Mugira, coordinator and editor, Water Journalists Africa Network, Uganda
- Sally Ngakanyanga, independent journalist, Zimbabwe
- Newton Sibanda, freelance journalist, Zambia
- Saya Pierce-Jones, reporter, Smile90.4 FM, South Africa

Outstanding Contribution Award: Power

- Mouhamadou Makhtar Cisse, CEO, Société Nationale d'électricité du Sénégal (SENELEC), Senegal
- Herta von Stiegel, executive chair, Ariya Capital, Kenya
- Ana Hajduka, founder and CEO, Africa Green Co. United Kingdom
- Jean Bosco Mugiraneza, CEO, Rwanda Energy Group Limited (REG), Rwanda
- Mateus Magala, president of the board of directors (CEO), Electricidade De Moçambique, E.P., Mozambique
- Chris Prengels, CEO, Tiger Power, Belgium / Tanzania

Power Utility of the Year Award

- Compagnie Ivoirienne D'Electricite (CIE), Cote d'Ivoire
- Société Nationale d'électricité du Burkina Faso (SONABEL), Burkina Faso
- Electriçidade De Moçambique, Mozambique
- Public Utilities Corporation, Seychelles

Water Utility of the Year Award

- Office National de l'Eau et de l'Assainissement (ONEA), Burkina Faso
- National Water and Sewerage Corporation, Uganda
- Sénégalaise des Eaux, Sénégal

Outstanding Contribution Award: Young Leader

- Beatrice Muthoni, renewable energy consultant, KTDA Power Company, Kenya
- Edmand Aijuka, CEO, Kamata, Uganda
- Rebekah Shirley, director of research, Power for All, Kenya
- Rose Mutiso, co-founder and CEO, Mawazo Institute, Kenya

Grid-Tied Renewable Energy Project Award (10MW+)

- Access Power, EREN RE, Uganda
- Xina Solar One Thermo Solar Plant, Abengoa, South Africa
- Building Energy Tororo Solar Power Station, Uganda

Small-Scale Renewable Energy Project Award (Under 5MW)

- InnoSun Energy Holding, Namibia
- Jiro-Ve, Madagascar
- National Department of Tourism Robben Island Solar Photovoltaic Micro-grid project, South Africa
- Rafiki Power, Germany / Tanzania
- Solarkiosk, Germany / Zambia

Innovative Technology of the Year Award

- SENER, South Africa
- Azuri Technologies, United Kingdom
- I Drop Water, South Africa

Deal of the Year Award

- Metito, United Arab Emirates
- Ministry of Energy, Zambia
- Albatros Energy Mali, Mali

• Africa Finance Corporation, Nigeria

The Digital Solution of the Year Award

- National Water & Sewerage Corporation, Uganda
- Siemens, South Africa

The awards gala dinner takes place on 16 May and forms part of the African Utility Week conference and expo taking place at the CTICC in Cape Town, 15-17 May.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com